Life finds a way

The first time I entered Bethlehem from what has come to be known as ‘checkpoint 300,’ I must say I got a bit nervous as to what might be on the other side. The infrastructure was absolutely massive.

I mean just look at it:

Shoot, sorry, wrong gallery. Half of those are from Jurassic Park. Can you guess which protect fictional scientists from velociraptors, and which separate humans from humans?

Its no small wonder that people get nervous. Those fences are pretty high, those cement walls pretty thick, but, I guess they are keeping out the T-rex, and he’s scary.

Except on the other side of the Bethlehem checkpoint, there aren’t so many dinosaurs. And while this kid is pretty fierce looking, I’m not sure he’s about to swoop down and eat the park ranger.

Okay, cheap shot. There are kids on the other side of checkpoints that are not adorable, who don’t make you take their pictures. I bet there are even ugly kids. That roar. And their parents. I bet they get protective.
But, a wall? Of Jurassic proportions?
The comparison does, however, offer some hope.  In the words of the horn-rim glasses’ed uber chic Dr Malcolm Gladwell:

“The kind of control you’re attempting is not possible. If there’s one thing the history of evolution has taught us, it’s that life will not be contained. Life breaks free. It expands to new territories. It crashes through barriers painfully, maybe even dangerously, but – well, there it is.”

 



 

Leave a comment